The Little Bookroom Guide to Paris with Children: Play, Eat, Shop, Stay Review

Rating: 
Amazon Price: $19.95 $11.84 You save: $8.11 (41%). (as of August 22, 2017 3:37 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

The Little Bookroom Guide to Paris with Children focuses on what sophisticated parents with good taste want to know: how to see Paris’s most important sights and neighborhoods in a child-centered way—in this case, through the eyes and experiences of author Kim Horton Levesque and her three research assistants, her daughters.

Organized around places to eat, play, and shop, there’s lots of information on family-friendly restaurants (yes, they exist in Paris), classic cafés where Parisians take their children, items on Parisian menus that appeal to children, charming tea salons for your little Madeline, ice-cream stands and parlors for everybody, and places for picnicking and snacking; parks and playgrounds near attractions, and how to feel at home in the parks, including all you need to know about pony rides, marionette shows, model-boat rentals, merry-go-rounds, and more; where to shop with children and for them, including the best places to find quintessential French children’s clothing (espadrilles, striped sailor’s jerseys, and, this being France, perfume for babies!) as well as the best baby gear and toys at both exclusive shops and chain stores. Levesque also profiles the best small boutiques that feature French designers for children’s clothing and artisanal toys.

The guide also includes practical advice on finding a babysitter in a pinch or an English-speaking playgroup; words you may need at pharmacies, whether the problem is a sore throat, blisters, or an upset stomach; and how to locate a toilet when your child needs one. And you’ll feel comfortable anywhere in the city after the author debriefs you on stroller etiquette.

Levesque also provides fascinating glimpses into the lives of Parisian children: typical school lunches (a cheese course? bien sûr!); the all-important after-school goûter; the classic French layette; formula and baby food (forget applesauce, think ratatouille, potato leek, artichoke, and more); and all sorts of fascinating and useful information that will make your trip en famille an easy and pleasurable one.

Get The Little Bookroom Guide to Paris with Children: Play, Eat, Shop, Stay at the best price today.

Bon voyage!

Product Details

  • Paperback: 388 pages
  • Publisher: Little Bookroom; Main edition (April 16, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1892145987
  • ISBN-13: 978-1892145987
  • Product Dimensions: 4.7 x 0.7 x 6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13.4 ounces

Customer Reviews

we carried this one around

11 people found this helpful.
 on April 26, 2014
By Reichhardt
I bought two guides of this type and this was the one that came along with us on our outings. It is definitely skewed toward someone who has younger kids who are girls; however, it had plenty of info suitable for my 7-year old boy and me. She makes a point of listing convenient restrooms throughout the city and I am glad our days of needing this part of the book are long over. The best part: an extensive listing of playgrounds. My son’s favorite: Luxembourg gardens; the pay-to-enter playground is well worth the fee and turned out to contain a number of English speaking children who tended to become instant friends with him. We also explored many of the others. I liked the organization according to area of the city, and the shopping listings were a fairly unique feature which would probably be particularly helpful for a longer stay with younger kids. We found the most wonderful toystore inside Au Bon Marche thanks to this book; as a department store its facade gave no hint of the extensive toy selection on one floor. I found the restaurant listings less useful; clearly my family’s food tastes differ from those of the author. In particular I would not recommend eating inside the Grande Galerie de Evolution if you are visiting Jardin des Plantes. The book is printed on heavy glossy pages with beautiful color photos, which made it a bit heavy for its small size; however, I could easily slip it in my purse and peruse it over lunch. There are no maps but you can easily get one from your hotel or just use a smartphone.

Helpful, practical, handy

6 people found this helpful.
 on July 14, 2013
By Hakusan
I relied heavily on this book on our recent trip to Paris with our 6-year-old. It had really helpful and practical information, organized by neighorhood. The tone of the book is very down-to-earth and realistic- you can tell it was written by a mom of three kids. There were a lot of really helpful tips in the beginning of the book, for example, on babysitting services. The book is very comprehensive. It is also very small in size, so it was really easy to carry around on our expeditions in Paris. It covers both major tourist spots and more out-of-the-way places. The info on family-friendly restaurants was super helpful and there was also info about great children’s stores in Paris. Most of the other books I had seemed aimed at slightly older kids; this book definitely had info for younger kids as well as older kids.

Great guide to useful and interesting spots

4 people found this helpful.
 on February 23, 2014
By Addicted to words
This guide is organized to help parents keep kids interested, exercised, fed, and clean. The author notes bathrooms, family friendly restaurants, and parks near famous sites so that parents can create a smart plan for a day of sightseeing in Paris. Super helpful if you are travelling with toddlers or elementary school kids, but still informative, well organized and useful for those of us with tweens. Would love to see a version of this from the same author with ideas for eye-rolling teens.

Let us go back to Paris!!!

 on April 26, 2015
By antenna
My two girls (12&5) and I just came back from a trip to Paris. I am very glad I found this book for the trip. Unlike any other trips, it was really centered to the girls thanks to this book. We felt local trying out suggestions mentioned in the book instead of waiting in lines for mandatory (?) sightseeigs. While we did make visits to Tour Eiffel, Musee des Louvre, and Monmartre, we gave up on visiting other spots but spent luxurious time at parks and playgrounds around the spots. (They are quite different from the ones in California; not necessarily better but very different.) My girls will definitely remember this trip for a long time.

Paris with Children

3 people found this helpful.
 on May 27, 2014
By Teresa
Great ideas, useful information, compact in size, and full of inspiration for a dreamy vacation with the kiddos. I definitely recommend this book. I have a 4.5 year old and a 1 year old.

delightful little book

3 people found this helpful.
 on June 6, 2013
By Sadie
I have been pouring over this book in preparation for our upcoming trip to Paris. I received it as a Mother’s Day gift (okay, okay, I had to order it myself!). Written by someone who seems to share my taste level, and of course, my idea of enjoyable travel with children. Also, love how up to date it is!

Fantastic book! We purchased this book for our 2nd …

 on April 15, 2016
By Julie Harrold
Fantastic book! We purchased this book for our 2nd trip to Paris. It had lots of great information! We hit rainy weather, it was nice to pop this out of my purse and look up alternative places to see indoors! The playground locations is the biggest plus 🙂

Five Stars

3 people found this helpful.
 on March 27, 2015
By Beatriz Herrera
Good book, but outdated in 2015.

Good Guide to Paris for Children

3 people found this helpful.
 on June 14, 2013
By Robin Dearling
Bought this for a friend with an 11-year old. Perhaps a little more relevant for younger-aged children, but still contained some of the restaurants I would recommend myself as well as good ideas for places to to with kids.

Great reference

One person found this helpful.
 on June 17, 2014
By Nilla
Gave this book to my daughter who was recently traveling in Paris with her kids and she made good use of the book by finding great parks and other places to take the kids who had a great time partly because of this book.
Copyright © Learn French