Rick Steves’ French Phrase Book & Dictionary Review

Rating: 
Amazon Price: $12.99 $8.83 You save: $4.16 (32%). (as of July 27, 2017 10:30 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Bonjour! From ordering a café au lait in Paris to making new friends in the Loire Valley, it helps to speak some of the native tongue. Rick Steves, bestselling author of travel guides to Europe, offers well-tested phrases and key words to cover every situation a traveler is likely to encounter. This handy guide provides key phrases for use in everyday circumstances and comes complete with phonetic spelling, an English-French and French-English dictionary, the latest information on European currency and rail transportation, and even a tear-out cheat sheet for continued language practice as you wait in line at the Louvre. Informative, concise, and practical, Rick Steves’ French Phrase Book and Dictionary is an essential item for any traveler’s sac à dos.

Get this book today.

Product Details

  • Series: Rick Steves
  • Paperback: 456 pages
  • Publisher: Avalon Travel Publishing; 7 edition (November 26, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1612382029
  • ISBN-13: 978-1612382029
  • Product Dimensions: 0.5 x 3.8 x 5.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.2 ounces

Customer Reviews

Everything I want in one compact space.

54 people found this helpful.
 on March 2, 2014
By Dana Quinn
This little book covers everything I could want, including Steves’ personable, practical tips for use of the book itself, and of course for the French language. Steves addresses both literal and social points of particular communications. This book provides the words one needs to navigate food (including markets) and dining, travel, medical, shopping, entertainment, sightseeing and much, much more. An excellent application for anyone who is going to spend time in France. Very, useful. A “must-have” was perfectly met for me in that pronunciations are paired with every word or phrase – vital in that the French language is often not phonetic and because with this tool, after a while, one begins to form “patterns” that lead to memorization. Steves always includes some human interest to keep the reader, well, “interested.” Steves understands that the most readers are not focused on becoming fluent French linguists, but rather wish to be able to combine enough French language with acceptabe non-verbal cues to be polite, engaged, and comfortable guests in France. In every way a delightful purchase.

A most useful pocket sized book

37 people found this helpful.
 on April 5, 2014
By French 75
My French is a little rusty so before I headed to Paris I purchased Rick Steves’ phrase book. I was glad I had it along. It was useful in restaurants to decipher that one word that made all the difference in whether or not I wanted to order something. I like that it was small enough to fit in my pocket. This and Rick Steves’ Paris 2014 are the only books you need for that Paris trip.

Better than Babbel!

13 people found this helpful.
 on July 2, 2016
By J. Regan
We just got back from an 11 day trip to France. Prior to the trip I paid for French lessons on Babbel; that was a mistake. I learned more useful phrases from Rick Steves’ book than all of the lessons I took from Babbel. Babbel seemed to focus on verbs and interactive communication but I don’t need to know how to say “I am studying to be an architect”. Rick Steves’ book focuses on travel related expressions, which is what I really needed. The two other couples we were traveling with asked if I studied French in school. I told them no, I studied Spanish, but I bought Rick Steves’ book two weeks before we flew to France. Buy this book and you will be able to navigate the French language in France.

Get this! Bought many books, this is by far the best!

5 people found this helpful.
 on March 23, 2017
By jmcbell
Yay!!! A Super tiny book. I’ve had this book for less than an hour and I can already pronounce the first two or three pages worth of information. Highly recommend a must-have for any France trip!

The best

13 people found this helpful.
 on June 6, 2014
By Karen
Rick Steves’ books and advice are simply “the best” books. His pronunciation guide is great. We are using his book as a guide for our French group.

Great Phrase Book

One person found this helpful.
 on March 21, 2017
By Danielle Kraack
This was quite helpful while we were in France for the first time. The book is laid out intelligently by type of interactions so that you can find what you are looking for more easily. Some phrases repeat. There’s also an index of words translated in the back for easy use. The locals appreciate it when you make an effort to speak their language and this is a great way to do so.

Loved it!

7 people found this helpful.
 on January 16, 2015
By Kindle Customer
Each time we needed concise conversation in Paris, this book came through! We were able to navigate how to ask for stamps, and postcard stamps, and other various things! It was a very handy book to have, and not too big, so it easily slipped into a handbag.

Good book; my kids enjoy reading it

6 people found this helpful.
 on June 6, 2015
By Ryan S.
This is a great book. My only complaint is that it is almost too dense with information, but when was too much information such a bad thing? My kids enjoy learning how to speak basic French words and sentences. The pronunciation guide is quite helpful.

seeker

14 people found this helpful.
 on June 8, 2014
By Kindle Customer
This is a very practical and helpful guide to all things French. Steve covers important cultural differences, such as the customary greeting. The guide aided me to ask basic questions at the airport, cafes, shops, etc.
Copyright © Learn French